Subscribe to Arts & Crafts Homes and the Revival magazine
Kits allow you to re-create modern interpretations of very old patterns, like this Uzbek from Ehrman Tapestry.

Craftsman Pillow Kits

by Mary Ellen Polson on October 31, 2012

in Textiles

ABOVE: Kits allow you to re-create modern interpretations of very old patterns, like this Uzbek from Ehrman Tapestry.

Popular since the second half of the 1800s, the pillow kit is widely available in revivals of historic patterns, especially those of the Arts & Crafts period—in which style simple stitches are fairly easy to learn and execute. Kits are available for embroidered work, stenciled patterns, and needlepoint designs.

Aster and pendant rose designs are from Ann Wallace/Prairie Arts.

ABOVE: Aster and pendant rose designs are from Ann Wallace/Prairie Arts.

‘Batchelder Cats’ is a kit from Arts & Crafts Period Textiles.

ABOVE: ‘Batchelder Cats’ is a kit from Arts & Crafts Period Textiles.

Most kits come with all the materials you need to stitch and finish a complete pillow: front and back fabric, appropriate thread, instructions, even the needle. How you display your finished work of art is up to you.

The pinecone is the quintessential Arts & Crafts motif, and flowers are common to all eras. Pillows from Ford Craftsman Studios.

Not comfortable sewing it yourself? Most companies also offer finished pillows.

Archive Edition Textiles also offers finished accent pillows in a range of sizes and with custom trimming.

Archive Edition Textiles also offers finished accent pillows in a range of sizes and with custom trimming.

Pillow Makers & Kits

Ann Wallace / Prairie Textiles (213) 614-1757, annwallace.com
Arts & Crafts embroidered pillows and kits

Appliqué Artistry (415) 453-6762, appliqueartistry.com
Art Nouveau, Arts & Crafts appliquéd pillows

Archive Edition Textiles (877) 676-2424, archiveedition.com
Arts & Crafts, Art Deco fabrics, and custom-made pillows

Arts & Crafts Period Textiles (510) 654-1645, textilestudio.com
Hand-embroidered Arts & Crafts pillows and kits

Company C (800) 818-8288, companyc.com
Designer and folk art-inspired pillows in wool and cotton

Craftsman Textiles (11) 353 71 917 3822, craftsmantextile.com
Hand-embroidered Arts & Crafts designs

Ehrman Tapestry (888) 826-8600, ehrmantapestry.com
Designer needlepoint and embroidery kits, including period-inspired designs

Ford Craftsman Studios (877) 204-9961, fordcraftsman.com
Hand-embroidered Arts & Crafts pillows

Historic Style (250) 592-4916, historicstyle.com
Cushions in William Morris and other revival fabrics

Inglenook Textiles (800) 492-1242, inglenooktextiles.com
Custom embroidery and pillow kits

Just a Little Bit Country (262) 542-8050, justalittlebitcountry.com
Primitive hooked pillow kits

Paint By Threads (951) 545-7451, paint-by-threads.com
Custom, hand-embroidered Arts & Crafts designs and kits

Rennie & Rose (413) 445-7444, rennieandrose.com
Arts & Crafts, Glasgow School, and Frank Lloyd Wright designs

Susan Sargent Designs (800) 245-4767, susansargent.com
Custom designs in appliqué, signature fabrics, including outdoor

Thistle Handwerks (406) 896-9434, thistlehandwerks.com
Scottish Arts & Crafts pillows and kits

Trimbelle River Studio & Design (866) 273-8773, trimbelleriver.com
Arts & Crafts stencil patterns

Wooley Tymes (860) 450-3300, wooleytymes.com
Primitive folk art hand-hooked pillows

Did you enjoy this post? Like it on Facebook, +1 it on Google or pin it on Pinterest to give it your public stamp of approval!

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: